Patch Notebook

Enshrouded › Dedicated server

Enshrouded Hotfixes: Which Need a Dedicated Server Update?

Published September 23, 2026

Short version: in 2026, Keen Games has explicitly said a dedicated server update was not needed for three releases: Hotfix #36, #37 and #42. For every other patch and hotfix, the changelog doesn't say either way. The table below lists them all so you can see where your server stands.

Server update by release

Release (date, UTC)VersionRevision (as posted)Dedicated server, per Keen Games
Hotfix #42 (2026-06-29)0.9.1.21076226Not needed. “Dedicated servers do not need an update.”
Hotfix #41 (2026-05-11)0.9.1.21024233Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.1.1.
Hotfix #40 (2026-05-06)0.9.1.11018982Not stated
Patch #14 (2026-04-29)0.9.1.11013216Not stated. Version number changed from 0.9.1.0.
Hotfix #39 (2026-04-23)0.9.1.01004637Not stated
Hotfix #38 (2026-04-22)0.9.1.01002673Not stated
Hotfix #37 (2026-04-21)0.9.1.0999467 “(no change)”Not needed. “This hotfix updates clients only.”
Hotfix #36 (2026-03-24)0.9.0.4“still 893400”Not needed. “This is a client-only fix.”
Hotfix #35 (2026-01-26)0.9.0.4893400Not stated
Patch #13 (2026-01-22)0.9.0.4890625Not stated

Hotfix #37 was posted the same day Update 8 (“Forging the Path”) went live. The changelog titles jump from 0.9.0.4 (Hotfix #36) to 0.9.1.0 (Hotfix #37).

How to read the table

  • “Not needed” means the changelog says so in those words. Your server can stay on the build it already has.
  • “Not stated” means the changelog doesn’t mention dedicated servers at all. It does not mean an update is optional. Our recommendation, not Keen’s: when the version number changes (0.9.0.4 → 0.9.1.0 → 0.9.1.1 → 0.9.1.2), update the server too.
  • Keen Games doesn’t explain what “revision” means in its changelogs. For the client-only Hotfixes #36 and #37, it pointed out that the revision hadn’t changed. For Hotfix #42 the revision number did change, but the changelog still says servers don’t need an update. So a revision change on its own doesn’t tell you whether to update.

Coming up: 1.0 on October 15, 2026

Keen Games has announced that Enshrouded leaves Early Access on Steam on October 15, 2026. No server notes for 1.0 have been published yet. We’ll add the 1.0 changelog to this table once it’s posted.

Spotted an error or a newer patch? See how to report corrections.